Meeting Between Staff of the Federal Reserve Board and the Indiana Bankers Association September 22, 2017

Participants: Mary Aiken, William Wascher, Margaret Miller, Chad Davis, Yao-Chin Chao, Megan Drefchinski, Noah Cuttler, Maureen Yap, Anthony Cain, Carmen Holly, Kirin Walsh, Jim Michaels, and Carolyn Welch (Federal Reserve Board)

> Todd Andritsch (Equias Alliance), Dena Bahe (First Harrison Bank), Todd Bailey (Huntington National Bank), Michael Bauer (WesBanco Bank), Richard Belcher (First Federal Savings Bank), Emily Boardman (Crossroads Bank), Benjamin Bochnowski (Peoples Bank), Patricia Brandstatter (Security Federal Savings Bank), Andrew Briggs (Bank of Geneva), Christina Bruno (Bose McKinney & Evans LLP), Jeffrey Bruse (Springs Valley Bank & Trust Company), Scott Carr (First Savings Bank), Jessica Carroll (The New Washington State Bank), Michael Clampitt (North Salem State Bank), Arden Cramer (Logansport Savings Bank), Roger Cromer (Crossroads Bank), Patrick Daily (The New Washington State Bank), Nathan Danielson (Bose McKinney & Evans LLP), Dax Denton (Indiana Bankers Association), Kathryn Ernstberger (First Harrison Bank), Clay Ewing (German American), Nathan Fansher (Crossroads Bank), Patrick Glotzbach (The New Washington State Bank), Jeffrey Gump (Farmers and Merchants Bank), William Hamilton (Federal Home Loan Bank of Indianapolis), Dianne Harris (Mutual Bank), William Harrold (First Harrison Bank), Ryan Hart (Lake City Bank), Susan Haskett (Jackson County Bank), Michael Head (First Federal Savings Bank), Bret Henderson (Security Federal Savings Bank), Robert Heuchan (Mutual Savings Bank), Lori Jean (Krieg DeVault LLP), Zachary LaGrange (Old National Bank), Kent Leichty (First Bank of Berne), Jeffrey Macy (Federal Home Loan Bank of Indianapolis), James Marcuccilli (STAR Bank), Timothy Massey (BMO Harris Bank), Scott McCarty (Bath State Bank), Dan Moore (Home Bank), David Morrison (Ossian State Bank), Christopher Murphy (1st Source Bank), Joshua Myers (Indiana Bankers Association), Larry Myers (First Savings Bank), David Ortega (First Merchants Bank), Emily Overlander (Security Federal Savings Bank), Kent Parisien (The First National Bank of Odon), Tade Powell (First Farmers Bank & Trust Company), Kristin Pruitt (Lake City Bank), Michael Renninger (Renninger & Associates LLC), Bret Rinehart (Security Federal Savings Bank), Julie Rorrer (The New Washington State Bank), Annette Russell (Security Federal Savings Bank), Chris Schaefer (Mutual Savings Bank), Jamie Shinabarger (Springs Valley Bank & Trust Company), Michael Shireman (First Harrison Bank), Erika Hall (Indiana Bankers Association), John Tanselle (SmithAmundsen LLC), Larry Tomlin (SmithAmundsen LLC), Amber Van Til (Indiana Bankers Association), Marvin Veatch (Jackson County Bank), Ryan Warner (Bippus State Bank), Lucas White (The Fountain Trust Company), Sydney Whitlock (The New Washington State Bank), Charles Wiggam (The New Washington State Bank), Michael Zahn (First Federal Savings Bank), Max Zimmerman (The New Washington State Bank)

Summary: Staff of the Federal Reserve Board met representatives of the Indiana Bankers Association and its member banks to discuss, among other issues, appraisal issues related to the

notice of proposed rulemaking on Real Estate Appraisals (Docket No. R-1568). The Indiana bank representatives expressed concern about the shortage of qualified appraisers in Indiana, which they asserted is partially due to the lack of young people entering the profession. Further, participants asserted that banks understand the value of local properties better than appraisers from other areas because the appraisal review process creates a log of valuations that banks can use in their evaluations. Participants asserted that the proposed threshold increase would help alleviate costs and time delays associated with the appraiser shortage, but raising the threshold for CRE loans to \$500,000 would be preferable.