Federal Reserve Release, Press Release; image with eagle logo links to home page
Release Date: January 9, 2004

For immediate release

The Federal Reserve Board on Friday named nine new members to its Consumer Advisory Council for three-year terms and designated a new Chair and Vice Chair of the Council for 2004.

The Council advises the Board on the exercise of its responsibilities under the Consumer Credit Protection Act and on other matters in the area of consumer financial services. The Council meets three times a year in Washington, D.C.

Agnes Bundy Scanlan was designated Chair; her term runs through December 2004. Ms. Scanlan is Managing Director and Chief Compliance Officer for FleetBoston Financial.

Mark Pinsky was designated Vice Chair; his term on the Council ends in December 2005. Mr. Pinsky is President and Chief Executive Officer for the National Community Capital Association.

The nine new members are:

Dennis L. Algiere
Westerly, Rhode Island

Mr. Algiere is Senior Vice President of Compliance and Community Affairs and the Community Reinvestment Officer for The Washington Trust Company. He is responsible for the bank's compliance, community affairs, community reinvestment, and Bank Secrecy Act programs.

Sheila Canavan
Berkeley, California

Ms. Canavan is an attorney with a law practice that focuses on consumer litigation. Her litigation experience has involved state and federal consumer regulation, elder abuse, fraud, and unfair and unlawful business practices; and she has special expertise in matters relating to subprime lending and securitization of home mortgage products. Ms. Canavan represents consumers, often low-income consumers, on credit transaction issues.

Anne Diedrick
New York, New York

Ms. Diedrick is a Senior Vice President for JP Morgan Chase. She is an executive team member of the JPMorgan Chase Community Development Group; the senior officer in charge of Community Reinvestment Act compliance at JPMorgan Chase Bank, Chase Manhattan Bank, USA, N.A. and J.P. Morgan Trust Company, N.A.; and the senior manager in charge of the JPMorgan Chase Corporate Fair Lending Unit. She is also responsible for the Office of Strategic Alliances, which works with not-for-profit community development organizations.

Hattie B. Dorsey
Atlanta, Georgia

Ms. Dorsey is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Atlanta Neighborhood Development Partnership, Inc., a not-for-profit corporation that promotes community revitalization in Atlanta's neighborhoods. Her experience is in single- and multi-family housing, community and economic development, regional equity, and public policy.

Bruce B. Morgan
Roeland Park, Kansas

Mr. Morgan is Chairman, President, Chief Executive Officer, and Director of Valley State Bank. He is actively involved in bank regulation, payments systems, and developing technologies that affect bank delivery of products and services. Mr. Morgan serves on the Customer Advisory Committee of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City and on the Payment and Technology Committee of the Independent Community Bankers of America. He is a former member and past Chairman of the Kansas State Banking Board.

Mary Jane Seebach
Newbury Park, California

Ms. Seebach is Executive Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer for Countrywide Financial Corporation. She oversees legal and regulatory compliance programs throughout the enterprise. Previously, Ms. Seebach worked as regulatory counsel advising on state and federal consumer credit laws for Countrywide Home Loans, The Money Store, and North American Mortgage Company, and as a senior attorney for the Federal Reserve Board.

Paul J. Springman
Atlanta, Georgia

Mr. Springman is Group Executive, Predictive Sciences, for Equifax. He has responsibility for providing modeling, analytical services, decisioning systems and applications processing for clients. He has been involved in launching a new business line, "Consumer Direct," to provide credit information, account monitoring alerts, and scoring analysis services to consumers.

Forrest F. Stanley
Cleveland, Ohio

Mr. Stanley is Senior Vice President and Associate General Counsel for KeyBank. He has responsibility for all legal matters affecting retail banking including mortgage, home equity, credit and debit cards, privacy, the Community Reinvestment Act, e-commerce, and the USA Patriot Act. Mr. Stanley has also been director of two KeyBank subsidiaries, Champion Mortgage Company and Key Bank USA. He currently serves as Chairman of the bank's Fair Lending Executive Committee.

Lori R. Swanson
St. Paul, Minnesota

Ms. Swanson is Solicitor General for the Office of the Minnesota Attorney General. She is responsible for civil litigation and oversees several divisions including Consumer Enforcement, Commerce, and Consumer Services. She negotiated a first-of-its-kind settlement with a national bank in a lawsuit alleging violations of state consumer protection laws and the Fair Credit Reporting Act based on disclosure of personal financial information.

Council members whose terms continue through 2004 are:

Janie Barrera
President and Chief Executive Officer
San Antonio, Texas

Kenneth P. Bordelon
Chief Executive Officer
E Federal Credit Union
Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Robin Coffey
Vice President
Harris Trust and Savings Bank
Chicago, Illinois

Thomas FitzGibbon
Senior Vice President
MB Financial Bank, N.A.
Chicago, Illinois

Larry Hawkins
President and Chief Executive Officer
Unity National Bank
Houston, Texas

Ruhi Maker
Senior Attorney
Public Interest
Law Office of Rochester
Rochester, New York

Patricia McCoy
Professor of Law
University of Connecticut School of Law
Hartford, Connecticut

Elsie Meeks
Executive Director
First Nations Oweesta Corporation
Kyle, South Dakota

Debra S. Reyes
Neighborhood Lending Partners, Inc.
Tampa, Florida

Benson Roberts
Vice President for Policy
Local Initiatives Support Corporation
Washington, D.C.

Hubert Van Tol
Fairness in Rural Lending
Sparta, Wisconsin

Council members whose terms continue through 2005 are:

Susan Bredehoft
Senior Vice President/ Compliance Risk Management
Commerce Bank, N.A.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey

Dan Dixon
Group Senior Vice President
World Savings Bank, FSB
Washington, D.C.

James Garner
Senior Vice President and General Counsel
North American Consumer Finance, Citigroup
Baltimore, Maryland

R. Charles Gatson
Vice President
Midtown Community Development Corporation
Kansas City, Missouri

W. James King
President and Chief Executive Officer
Community Redevelopment Group
Cincinnati, Ohio

Benjamin Robinson, III
Senior Vice President, Strategy Management Executive
Bank of America
Charlotte, North Carolina

Diane Thompson
Supervising Attorney
Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation, Inc.
East St. Louis, Illinois

Clint Walker
General Counsel/Chief Administrative Officer
Juniper Bank
Wilmington, Delaware

2003 Other announcements

Home | News and events
Last update: January 9, 2004