
I am writing on behalf of Rivermark Community Credit Union in Beaverton, Oregon. We are deeply 
concerned about the impact of this law as it pertains to the 21 day advance billing statement 
requirement for all open end lending programs. We understand the intent of this law as it pertains to 
credit cards and are fully prepared to comply with its provisions. However, the fact that this law has 
been expanded to include all open-end lending products will cause a great deal of member confusion 
as well as unnecessary expense to the credit union. The concerns I'd like to focus on are the impact to 
our payday lending program, the option of disclosing future payment information on monthly 
statements and the new statement minimum payment disclosure for all open-end loans that becomes 
effective in February 2010. 

Payday Lending Program 

We have participated in several audio conferences hosted by Credit Union National Association 
(C U N A). One topic that I have not yet heard addressed was the impact of the 21 day advance billing 
statement requirement on Payday loan programs that many Oregon credit unions offer. Several years 
ago, we were requested by our State Regulators to develop programs to combat the predatory payday 
lenders that were running rampant in our state. Our credit union responded by creating a program that 
allows members to obtain short term loans at much lower rates and fees than the typical payday loan. 
We also limit the program to six loans in a year unless the member participates in (credit-union 
sponsored, free to the member) financial counseling. 

Our payday loans are written under our open end consumer lending plan. They are written with a 
single payment due within 14 to 30 days, depending on the timing of the next payday. Disclosure of the 
single payment and due date is provided at the time the loan is funded, but the due date may fall 
shorter than 21 days before the payment is due. As these are our higher risk borrowers, the late fee 
serves a purpose by increasing the likelihood of repayment. With this 21 day statement requirement, 
we aren't certain that we will even be allowed to offer an open-end loan with a single repayment less 
than 21 days. The (unintended) impact of this provision on Credit Union Payday loans may be the 
suspension of low cost payday loans for the members hit hardest by the economic slowdown. We may 
be able to adjust our program and documentation but given the short implementation timeframe, we 
may have to temporarily suspend or stop offering this product altogether. 

21 Day Provision - Whether forecasting the next two monthly payments on each statement is within 
the "spirit" of the law During the Audio Conference hosted by C U N A on July 28, 2009, Benjamin Olson, 
the representative from the Federal reserve, stated that he didn't recommend that we list the next two 
payment due dates on each monthly statement because that was not in the "spirit of the law." 
However, on page 83 of the Interim Final Rule, the revised commentary to 2 2 6.7 Periodic Statements, 
the following example sets out that scenario as being acceptable for Deferred Payment transactions. 
Why would this not be acceptable for Credit Unions as well? 

"D. If the due date for the deferred payment balance is March 7 (instead of March 31), the creditor 
could include the $500 purchase and its due date on the periodic statement reflecting activity for 
January and sent on February 1, the most recent statement sent at least 21 days prior to the due date." 



Any Personal or Equity Line of Credit with varying payment amounts already receive monthly billing 
notices so we are not concerned with compliance for those products. However, for installment type 
open-end loans, the option to provide multiple payment due dates on each statement would be the 
least costly to the credit union and the least disruptive to our members. We don't want to have to 
change their payment dates or frequency we allow our members to choose their due dates to best fit 
their individual needs and many of these payments are set up to be automated anyway. Additionally, 
the open end loans in question have set payment amounts and due dates that are disclosed when 
funded and this information is also provided in coupon books to our members. And if we instead 
provide a separate billing statement with separate cycles for each loan, we will actually cause a lot a 
members to get angry with the credit union for mailing them unnecessary notices and for being 
environmentally irresponsible by wasting paper. 

Minimum Payment Disclosure Impact to non-credit card open-end loans. In addition to the 21 day 
statement requirement that goes into effect in August, an even worse provision that impacts open end 
lending products is the minimum payment disclosure that will be required on statements beginning in 
February 2010. This new law makes perfect sense as it pertains to Credit Cards. 

However, this provision applies to ALL open end loans. How will this additional disclosure (the length of 
time it will take to pay off the loan if making minimum payments; the payment amount necessary to 
pay the loan off in 36 months) be meaningful on a 14 day Payday loan, or even a home equity line or 
auto loan under an open end consumer loan program? A member with 6 months left to pay on the 
auto loan who sees a 36 month amortization on their statement will likely be confused as to the correct 
amount to pay or even why we're giving them this information (and the minimum payment warning 
will actually be inaccurate) - not to mention the space it will take up on the statement, costs to 
program these calculations, additional paper, printing, postage costs, all to be passed along to the 
members. And again, from an environmental standpoint, this is not a very "green" proposition as it 
forces the increased use of paper for something that is not consumer friendly or helpful. 

Short Implementation Time Frame 

I'd like to add to the many voices that have objected strongly to the short implementation time frame 
of these new rules. We are somewhat unique in that we have been deep in the process of a merger 
with another credit union of over 8000 members. The merger and data conversion were completed 
August 1st and we are still working through data conversion issues. This merger, and providing the best 
service possible to our existing and new members during this transition, has been our top priority and a 
huge task. All of our internal programming and technical resources have been devoted to this project, 
so adding a reprogramming intensive task on top of the merger has made it extremely difficult for us to 
respond timely, to say the least. Frankly, the Fed's statement that "for a short period of time after 
August 20, some periodic statements for open-end consumer credit plans other than credit cards may 
disclose payment due dates and grace period expiration dates (if applicable) that are technically 
inconsistent with the interim final rule" is not very helpful or clear. The best course of action would be 
for the Federal Reserve to immediately delay (at minimum) the 21 day statement requirement for 
open end loans other than credit cards. 
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Example: I have a VISA credit card (with a lifetime balance transfer rate of 5.90%), a dealer auto 
loan (closed end) and open end boat and auto loans. My separate VISA statement will include the 
additional minimum payment and/or amortization disclosure, which makes sense from a consumer 
protection and educational standpoint. However, on the combined monthly checking/savings/loan 
statement, the open end boat and auto loans will have the minimum payment/amortization 
disclosure; however the Dealer auto loan (closed end) will not. The example below assumes we 
will be allowed to combine the disclosure for multiple open end loans into one table, rather than a 
separate table and disclosure for each loan. We feel this additional disclosure serves no purpose 
and will only confuse members. Plus the "Minimum Payment Warning" language would be 
inaccurate in many cases as in the example below. 

Additional Statement Disclosures 

Example 1 (Combined Statement with multiple loans) (all amounts listed are for 
example only) 

Minimum Payment Warning: Making only the minimum payment will increase the amount of 
interest you pay and the time it takes to repay your balance. Below is a chart with eight columns and 5 rows. 
Column 1 Loan 
Description 

Column 2 Current 
Balance 

Column 3 Minimum 
Payment 

Column 4 Number of 
Months to 
pay off 
loan at 
minimum 
payment 

Column 5 Total 
Interest 

Column 6 Total of 
Payments 

Column 7 Minimum 
payment 
amount 
required to 
pay off 
loan in 36 
Months* 

* You may not pay less than your minimum payment, even if lower amount is listed above 

Column 8 Total 
Interest 

Column 9 Total of 
Payments 

Row 1 Auto Loan -
143 Current 

Balance $6,500.00 
Minimum 
Payment $357.50 

Number of 
Months to 
pay off 
loan at 
minimum 
payment 19 

Total 
Interest $292.50 

Total of 
Payments $6792.50 

Minimum 
payment 
amount 
required to 
pay off 
loan in 36 
Months $180.55 

Total 
Interest $400.00 

Total of 
Payments 
$6,900.00 Row 2 Boat Loan -

144 Current 
Balance $19,000.00 

Minimum 
Payment $352.00 

Number of 
Months to 
pay off 
loan at 
minimum 
payment 70 

Total 
Interest $5600.00 

Total of 
Payments $24,600.00 

Minimum 
payment 
amount 
required to 
pay off 
loan in 36 
Months $607.00 

Total 
Interest $2880.00 

Total of 
Payments $21,880.00 

Row 3 Auto Loan -
145 (Dealer 
Loan-
Closed end) 

Current 
Balance non applicable 

Minimum 
Payment non applicable 

Number of 
Months to 
pay off 
loan at 
minimum 
payment non applicable 

Total 
Interest non applicable 

Total of 
Payments non applicable 

Minimum 
payment 
amount 
required to 
pay off 
loan in 36 
Months non applicable 

Total 
Interest non applicable 

Total of 
Payments non applicable 

Toll Free number at which you may receive information about accessing credit counseling 
and debt management services: 1 - 8 0 0 - 4 5 2 - 8 5 0 2 

Example 2 - Credit Card (to appear on separate VISA statement with lifetime 
balance transfer rate of 5.90%) (all amounts listed are for example only) 

Minimum Payment Warning: Making only the minimum payment will increase the amount of 
interest you pay and the time it takes to repay your balance. 
Column 1 APR Column 2 Current 

Balance 
Column 3 Minimum 
Payment 
(greater of 
3% of 
balance or 
$20) 

Column 4 Number of Months 
to pay off 
loan at 
minimum 
payment 

Column 5 Total 
Interest 

Column 6 Total of 
Payments 

Column 7 Minimum 
payment 
amount 
required to 
pay off loan 
in 36 
Months 

Column 8 Total 
Interest 

Column 9 Total of Payments 

APR 9.90% Current 
Balance $5,000.00 

Minimum 
Payment 
(greater of 
3% of 
balance or 
$20) $450.00 

Number of Months 
to pay off 
loan at 
minimum 
payment 42 

Total 
Interest $3,696 

Total of 
Payments $18,696 

Minimum payment amount required to pay off loan in 36 months $505.00 Total 
Interest $3,168 

Total of Payments $18,168 
5.90% $10,000.00 

Toll Free number at which you may receive information about accessing credit counseling 
and debt management services: 1 800 4 5 2 8 5 0 2 


