skip to main navigation skip to secondary navigation skip to content
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
skip secondary navigation
Federal Reserve Board of Governors

Federal Reserve Bank Presidents

Eric S. Rosengren

Photo of Eric S. Rosengren

Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Dr. Rosengren took office on July 23, 2007, as the thirteenth president and chief executive officer of the First District Federal Reserve Bank, at Boston. He is currently serving a full term that began March 1, 2011.

Dr. Rosengren was born on June 3, 1957, in Ridgewood, New Jersey. He graduated from Colby College with a B.A. in economics. He attended the University of Wisconsin, Madison, where he earned an M.S. in economics in 1984 and a Ph.D. in economics in 1986.

Dr. Rosengren has held senior positions within the Federal Reserve in both the research and bank supervision functions. He joined the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston in 1985 as an economist in the Research Department. He was promoted to assistant vice president in 1989 and to vice president in 1991 as head of the Banking and Monetary Policy section of the Research Department. In 2000, he was named senior vice president and head of the Supervision and Regulation Department. He assumed the additional title of chief discount officer in 2003, and in 2005, he was named executive vice president. While in the bank supervision function, he obtained significant domestic and international regulatory experience related to the Basel II Capital Accord.

In his research, Rosengren has made significant contributions in the fields of banking and monetary policy, and he has written extensively on macroeconomics, international banking, bank supervision, and risk management. He has been an author on a variety of papers on macroeconomics, banking, and risk management, including articles in many of the top economics and finance journals. He has served as an advisor on Japanese banking issues, and a focus of his research has been how financial problems can impact the real economy.

Boston--First District

  • Head office at Boston, Massachusetts.

    No branches.

    Covers the states of Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont; and all but Fairfield County in Connecticut.

Last update: January 31, 2017