skip to main navigation skip to secondary navigation skip to content
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
skip secondary navigation
Federal Reserve Board of Governors

Federal Reserve Bank Presidents

Charles L. Evans

Photo of Charles L. Evans

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Charles L. Evans took office on September 1, 2007, as the ninth president and chief executive officer of the Seventh District Federal Reserve Bank, at Chicago. In 2017, he serves as a voting member of the Federal Open Market Committee.

Before becoming president, Dr. Evans was director of research and a senior vice president at the Chicago Fed. In that capacity he oversaw the Bank's research in monetary policy, banking and financial markets, and regional economics. In addition, he had supervisory responsibility for the Bank's Consumer and Community Affairs unit and the Public Affairs Department. Dr. Evans also served as an associate economist on the FOMC.

Prior to his appointment as research director, Dr. Evans was a vice president and senior economist in the Economic Research Department with responsibility for the macroeconomics research group. His research has focused on measuring the effects of monetary policy on U.S. economic activity, inflation, and financial market prices. His research has been published in the Journal of Political Economy, American Economic Review, Journal of Monetary Economics, Quarterly Journal of Economics, and the Handbook of Macroeconomics.

Dr. Evans has taught at the University of Chicago and the University of Michigan. Prior to joining the Chicago Fed in 1991, he was an assistant professor of economics at the University of South Carolina.

Dr. Evans received a B.A. in economics from the University of Virginia and a Ph.D. in economics from Carnegie-Mellon University in Pittsburgh.

He is married and has two children.

Chicago -- Seventh District

  • Head office at Chicago, Illinois.

    Branch Bank at Detroit, Michigan.

    Covers the state of Iowa; 68 counties of northern Indiana; 50 counties of northern Illinois; 68 counties of southern Michigan; and 46 counties of southern Wisconsin.

Last update: January 31, 2017