skip to main navigation skip to secondary navigation skip to content
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
skip secondary navigation
Federal Reserve Board of Governors

Federal Reserve Bank Presidents

Esther L. George

Photo of Esther George

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

Esther George took office on October 1, 2011, as the ninth president and chief executive officer of the Tenth District Federal Reserve Bank, at Kansas City.

Ms. George joined the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City in 1982 and served much of her career in the Division of Supervision and Risk Management. She began as a commissioned bank examiner and eventually served for ten years as the Districtís chief regulator. In that capacity, she was responsible for oversight of the District's state-chartered member banks and nearly 1,000 bank and financial holding companies, as well as the Bankís discount window and risk management functions. She was directly involved in the Tenth Districtís banking supervision and discount window lending activities during the banking crisis of the 1980s and post-9/11.

She is a former chair of the Federal Reserve System's Community Banking Organizations Management Group. George also served as the acting director of the Federal Reserve's Division of Banking Supervision and Regulation at the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System in Washington, D.C., during the recent financial crisis.

Beyond the Tenth District Federal Reserve Bank, she hosts the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas Cityís annual Jackson Hole Economic Symposium. She has also participated in the Bank for International Settlementís Financial Stability Institute programs in Lima, Abu Dhabi, Beijing and Malaysia.

Ms. George is a native of Missouri. She earned a B.S.B.A. in business administration from Missouri Western State University in St. Joseph, Mo., and an M.B.A. from the University of Missouri-Kansas City. She is a graduate of the American Bankers Association Stonier Graduate School of Banking and the Stanford University Executive Program.

Kansas City -- Tenth District

  • Head office at Kansas City, Missouri.

    Branch Banks at Denver, Colorado; Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; and Omaha, Nebraska.

    Covers the states of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Wyoming; 43 counties in western Missouri; and 14 counties in northern New Mexico.

Last update: January 31, 2017