skip to main navigation skip to secondary navigation skip to content
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
skip secondary navigation
Federal Reserve Board of Governors

Federal Reserve Bank Presidents

Robert S. Kaplan

Photo of Robert Steven Kaplan

Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Robert Steven Kaplan took office on September 8, 2015, as the 13th president and chief executive officer of the 11th District Federal Reserve Bank, at Dallas. In 2017, he serves as a voting member of the Federal Open Market Committee.

Mr. Kaplan was born and raised in Prairie Village, Kansas. He received a B.S. in business administration from the University of Kansas and an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School.

Before taking office at the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, Mr. Kaplan was the Martin Marshall Professor of Management Practice in Business Administration and a senior associate dean at Harvard Business School.

Prior to joining Harvard in 2006, Mr. Kaplan was vice chairman of the Goldman Sachs Group, Inc., with global responsibility for the firm's divisions of Investment Banking and Investment Management. Previously, he served as global co-head of the Investment Banking Division. Mr. Kaplan was also a member of the firm's Management Committee and served as co-chairman of the firm's Partnership Committee and chairman of the Goldman Sachs Pine Street Leadership Program.

He serves as co-chairman of Project A.L.S., on the board of Harvard Medical School, and as co-chairman of the Draper Richards Kaplan Foundation.

Mr. Kaplan previously served on the boards of State Street Corporation; Harvard Management Company; Bed Bath & Beyond, Inc.; and Heidrick & Struggles International, Inc. He was also a trustee of the Ford Foundation; founding board chair of the TEAK Fellowship; cofounder and chairman of Indaba Capital Management, LP; and chairman of the Investment Advisory Committee at Google, Inc. Mr. Kaplan was appointed by the governor of Kansas as a member of the Kansas Health Policy Authority Board.

Dallas -- Eleventh District

  • Head office at Dallas, Texas.

    Branch Banks at El Paso, Houston, and San Antonio, Texas.

    Covers the state of Texas; 26 parishes in northern Louisiana; and 18 counties in southern New Mexico.

Last update: January 31, 2017