Annual Report Budget Review 2013 - Accessible Version

Figure 1. Distribution of budgeted expenses of the Federal Reserve System, 2013

Category Percent
Reserve Banks 73
Board of Governors 12
Currency 16

Note: Components may not sum to 100 percent because of rounding.

Return to text

Figure 2. Total expenses of the Federal Reserve System, 200413
Billions of dollars

Year Current dollars 2005 dollars1
2004 3.298 3.405
2005 3.365 3.365
2006 3.561 3.447
2007 3.883 3.664
2008 3.872 3.528
2009 4.041 3.657
2010 4.243 3.789
2011 4.364 3.787
2012 4.696 3.967
2013 5.073 4.202

Note: For 2013, budgeted. Includes expenses of the Office of Inspector General.

1. Calculated with the GDP price deflator.  Return to table

Return to text

Figure 3. Cumulative change in Federal Reserve System expenses and federal government expenses, 200413

Year Federal government1 Federal Reserve2
2004 0 0.000


2006 12.630 7.971
2007 11.950 17.746
2008 18.458 17.423
2009 31.701 22.550
2010 49.252 28.672
2011 46.871 32.320
2012 38.277 42.386
2003 28.889 53.821

Note: For 2013, budgeted. Federal government expenses are reported on a fiscal-year basis beginning October 1; the Federal Reserve System expenses are reported on a calendar-year basis.

1. Discretionary spending less expenditures on defense. Source: Budget of the United States Government, Fiscal Year 2013: Historical Tables, Table 8.1. Outlays by Budget Enforcement Act Category, 1962–2017.  Return to table

2. Includes expenses of the Office of Inspector General.  Return to table

Return to text

Figure 4. Employment in the Federal Reserve System, 2004-13

Year Number
2004 22,680
2005 21,789
2006 21,691
2007 21,463
2008 20,745
2009 20,049
2010 19,669
2011 20,016
2012 20,768
2013 21,196

Note: For 2013, budgeted. Employment numbers presented include position counts for the Board and average number of personnel (ANP) for the Reserve Banks.

Return to text

Figure 5. Federal Reserve costs for new currency, 19992013
Millions of dollars

Year Costs of new currency
1999 487
2000 456
2001 344
2002 430
2003 514
2004 514
2005 497
2006 489
2007 576
2008 500
2009 631
2010 623
2011 650
2012 721
2013 798

Note: For 2013, budgeted.

Return to text

Maps of the Federal Reserve System.

These maps show the boundaries of the twelve Federal Reserve Districts, the location of the Reserve Bank (and any Branch or Branches) within each District, and the Washington, D.C., location of the Board of Governors. Following is a list of the twelve Districts, by number and letter; the city in which the Reserve Bank is located; the states within the District; and the location of any Branch or Branches of the Reserve Bank.

Return to text

District 1-A, Boston. Encompasses Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut (excluding Fairfield County). No Branches.

District 2-B, New York. Encompasses New York State, twelve counties in northern New Jersey, Fairfield County in Connecticut, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. No Branches.

District 3-C, Philadelphia. Encompasses eastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and all of Delaware. No Branches.

District 4-D, Cleveland. Encompasses Ohio, western Pennsylvania, eastern Kentucky, and the northern panhandle of West Virginia. Branches in Pittsburgh and Cincinnati.

District 5-E, Richmond. Encompasses Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and most of West Virginia. Branches in Baltimore and Charlotte.

District 6-F, Atlanta. Encompasses Alabama, Florida, Georgia, and parts of Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee. Branches in Nashville, Birmingham, Jacksonville, Miami, and New Orleans.

District 7-G, Chicago. Encompasses Iowa and most of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and Wisconsin. Branch in Detroit.

District 8-H, St. Louis. Encompasses Arkansas and portions of Missouri, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kentucky, Indiana, and Illinois. Branches in Louisville, Memphis, and Little Rock.

District 9-I, Minneapolis. Encompasses Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, twenty-six counties in northwestern Wisconsin, and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Branch in Helena.

District 10-J, Kansas City. Encompasses Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wyoming, northern New Mexico, and Western Missouri. Branches in Omaha, Denver, and Oklahoma City.

District 11-K, Dallas. Encompasses Texas, northern Louisiana, and southern New Mexico. Branches in El Paso, San Antonio, and Houston.

District 12-L, San Francisco. Encompasses Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, American Samoa, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Branches in Seattle, Portland, Salt Lake City, and Los Angeles.

Return to text

Last update: June 19, 2013