Federal Reserve Release, Press Release; image with eagle logo links to home page
Release Date: December 21, 2000

For immediate release

The Federal Reserve Board today announced the names of seven new members of its Thrift Institutions Advisory Council (TIAC) and designated a new President and Vice President of the Council for 2001.

The Council is an advisory group made up of twelve representatives from thrift institutions. The panel was established by the Board in 1980 and includes savings and loan, savings bank, and credit union representatives. The Council meets at least three times each year with the Board of Governors to discuss developments relating to thrift institutions, the housing industry, mortgage finance, and certain regulatory issues.

The new Council President for 2001 is Thomas S. Johnson, Chairman and CEO, GreenPoint Bank, New York, New York. The new Vice President is Mark H. Wright, President and CEO, USAA Federal Savings Bank, San Antonio, Texas.

The seven new members, named for two-year terms beginning January 1, are:

Ronald S. Eliason
President and CEO
Utah Community Federal Credit Union
Provo, UT

D.R. Grimes
Vice President and CEO
Alpharetta, GA
Charlotte, North Carolina

Karen L. McCormick
President and CEO
First Federal Savings and Loan Association
Port Angeles, WA

James F. McKenna
President and CEO
North Shore Bank, FSB
Brookfield, WI

Charles C. Pearson, Jr.
Co-Chairman and CEO
Waypoint Bank
Harrisburg, PA

Herbert M. Sandler
Chairman and CEO
World Savings Bank, FSB
Oakland, CA

Evertt Stiles
President and CEO
Macon Bank
Franklin, NC

Other TIAC members whose terms continue through 2001 are:

Tom R. Dorety
President and CEO
Suncoast Schools Federal Credit Union
Tampa, FL

Cornelius D. Mahoney
Chairman, President, and CEO
Woronoco Savings Bank
Westfield, MA

Clarence Zugelter
President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board
First Federal Bank, F.S.B.
Kansas City, MO

2000 Other announcements

Home | News and events
Last update: December 22, 2000