Federal Reserve Release, Press Release; image with eagle logo links to home page
Release Date: September 28, 2001

For immediate release

The Federal Reserve Board on Friday announced the appointment of chairmen and deputy chairmen of the twelve Federal Reserve Banks for 2002.

Each Reserve Bank has a board of directors of nine members. The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and designates one of its appointees as chairman and a second as deputy chairman.

Following are the names of the chairmen and deputy chairmen appointed by the Board for 2002:

  • William O. Taylor, Chairman Emeritus, The Boston Globe, Boston, Mass., named Chairman.
  • James J. Norton, Vice President, AFL-CIO, Washington, D.C., named Deputy Chairman.

New York
  • Peter G. Peterson, Chairman, The Blackstone Group, New York, N.Y., renamed Chairman.
  • Deputy Chairman -- To be announced.

  • Charisse R. Lillie, Partner, Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP, Philadelphia, Pa., renamed Chairman.
  • Glenn A. Schaeffer, President, Pennsylvania Building and Construction Trades Council, Harrisburg, Pa., renamed Deputy Chairman.

  • David H. Hoag, former Chairman, The LTV Corporation, Cleveland, Ohio, renamed Chairman.
  • Robert W. Mahoney, former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Diebold Inc., Canton, Ohio, renamed Deputy Chairman.

  • Jeremiah J. Sheehan, former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Reynolds Metals Company, Richmond, Va., renamed Chairman.
  • Wesley S. Williams, Jr., Partner, Covington & Burling, Washington, D.C., renamed Deputy Chairman.

  • John F. Wieland, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, John Wieland Homes and Neighborhoods, Inc., Atlanta, Ga., renamed Chairman.
  • Paula Lovell, President, Lovell Communications, Inc., Nashville, Tenn., renamed Deputy Chairman.

  • Robert J. Darnall, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Prime Advantage Chicago, Chicago, Ill., named Chairman.
  • W. James Farrell, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Illinois Tool Works Inc., Glenview, Ill., named Deputy Chairman.

St. Louis
  • Charles W. Mueller, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Ameren Corporation, St. Louis, Mo., renamed Chairman.
  • Walter L. Metcalfe, Jr., Chairman, Bryan Cave LLP, St. Louis, Mo., renamed Deputy Chairman.

  • Ronald N. Zwieg, President, United Food & Commercial Workers, Local 653, Plymouth, Minn., named Chairman.
  • Linda Hall Whitman, former President, Ceridian Performance Partners, Minneapolis, Minn., named Deputy Chairman.

Kansas City
  • Terrence P. Dunn, President and Chief Executive Officer, J.E. Dunn Construction Company, Kansas City, Mo., renamed Chairman.
  • Deputy Chairman - To be announced.

  • H.B. Zachry, Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, H.B. Zachry Company, San Antonio, Texas, renamed Chairman.
  • Patricia M. Patterson, President, Patterson Investments, Inc., Dallas, Texas, renamed Deputy Chairman.

San Francisco
  • Nelson C. Rising, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Catellus Development Corporation, San Francisco, Calif., renamed Chairman.
  • George M. Scalise, President, Semiconductor Industry Association, San Jose, Calif., renamed Deputy Chairman.

2001 Other announcements

Home | News and events
Last update: September 28, 2001