Federal Reserve Release, Press Release; image with eagle logo links to home page
Release Date: September 19, 2000

For immediate release

The Federal Reserve Board today announced the appointment of Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks for 2001.

Each Reserve Bank has a board of directors of nine members. The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and designates one of its appointees as Chairman and a second as Deputy Chairman.

Following are the names of the Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen appointed by the Board for 2001:

Boston --
William C. Brainard, Professor, Department of Economics, Yale University, New Haven, CT, renamed Chairman.

William O. Taylor, Chairman Emeritus, The Boston Globe, Boston, MA, renamed Deputy Chairman.

New York --
Peter G. Peterson, Chairman, The Blackstone Group, New York, NY, renamed Chairman.

Charles A. Heimbold, Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., New York, NY, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Philadelphia --
Charisse R. Lillie, Partner, Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP, Philadelphia, PA, named Chairman.

Glenn A. Schaeffer, President, Pennsylvania Building and Construction Trades Council, Harrisburg, PA, named Deputy Chairman.

Cleveland --
David H. Hoag, former Chairman, The LTV Corporation, Cleveland, OH, renamed Chairman.

Robert W. Mahoney, former Chairman, Diebold, Inc., North Canton, OH, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Richmond --
Jeremiah J. Sheehan, former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Reynolds Metals Company, Richmond, VA, renamed Chairman.

Wesley S. Williams, Jr., Partner, Covington & Burling, Washington, DC, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Atlanta --
John F. Wieland, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, John Wieland Homes and Neighborhoods, Inc., Atlanta, GA, renamed Chairman.

Paula Lovell, President, Lovell Communications, Inc., Nashville, TN, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Chicago --
Arthur C. Martinez, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Sears, Roebuck and Co., Hoffman Estates, IL, renamed Chairman.

Robert J. Darnall, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Prime Advantage Chicago, Chicago, IL, renamed Deputy Chairman.

St. Louis --
Charles W. Mueller, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Ameren Corporation, St. Louis, MO, named Chairman.

Deputy Chairman To be announced.

Minneapolis --
James J. Howard, Chairman, Xcel Energy Inc., Minneapolis, MN, renamed Chairman.

Ronald N. Zwieg, President, United Food & Commercial Workers, Local 653, Plymouth, MN, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Kansas City --
Terrence P. Dunn, President and Chief Executive Officer, J.E. Dunn Construction Company, Kansas City, MO, named Chairman.

Jo Marie Dancik, Area Managing Partner, Ernst & Young LLP, Denver, CO, named Deputy Chairman.

Dallas --
H.B. Zachry, Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, H.B. Zachry Company, San Antonio, TX, named Chairman.

Patricia Patterson, President, Patterson Investments, Inc., Dallas, TX, named Deputy Chairman.

San Francisco --
Nelson C. Rising, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Catellus Development Corporation, San Francisco, CA, named Chairman.

Deputy Chairman To be announced.

2000 Other announcements

Home | News and events
Last update: September 19, 2000