Federal Reserve Release, Press Release; image with eagle logo links to home page
Release Date: August 5, 2002

For immediate release

Donald L. Kohn and Ben S. Bernanke on Monday took the oath of office as members of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. The oath was administered by Chairman Alan Greenspan in the Board Room.

President Bush announced his intention to nominate Dr. Kohn and Dr. Bernanke on May 8. The Senate confirmed them on July 31.

Dr. Kohn was nominated to a vacant seat last held by Laurence H. Meyer, whose term expired January 31, 2002. Dr. Kohn's term expires January 31, 2016.

Dr. Bernanke was nominated to the seat vacated by the resignation of Edward W. Kelley, Jr. on December 31, 2001. The term expires January 31, 2004.

2002 Other announcements

Home | News and events
Last update: August 5, 2002