Federal Reserve Release, Press Release; image with eagle logo links to home page
Release Date: October 11, 2002

For immediate release

The Federal Reserve Board on Friday announced the appointment of chairmen and deputy chairmen of the twelve Federal Reserve Banks for 2003.

Each Reserve Bank has a nine-member board of directors. The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and designates one of its appointees as chairman and a second as deputy chairman.

Following are the names of the chairmen and deputy chairmen appointed by the Board for 2003:

  • James J. Norton, Vice President, AFL-CIO, Washington, D.C., named Chairman.
  • Samuel O. Thier, M.D., President and Chief Executive Officer, Partners HealthCare System, Inc., Boston, Massachusetts, named Deputy Chairman.

New York
  • Peter G. Peterson, Chairman, The Blackstone Group, New York, New York, renamed Chairman.
  • John E. Sexton, President, New York University, New York, New York, named Deputy Chairman.

  • Glenn A. Schaeffer, President Emeritus, Pennsylvania Building and Construction Trades Council, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, named Chairman.
  • Ronald J. Naples, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Quaker Chemical Corporation, Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, named Deputy Chairman.

  • Robert W. Mahoney, Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Diebold, Incorporated, Canton, Ohio, named Chairman.
  • Charles E. Bunch, President and Chief Operating Officer, PPG Industries, Inc., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, named Deputy Chairman.

  • Wesley S. Williams, Jr., Partner, Covington & Burling, Washington, D.C., named Chairman.
  • Irwin Zazulia, Retired President and Chief Executive Officer, Hecht's, Arlington, Virginia, named Deputy Chairman.

  • Paula Lovell, President, Lovell Communications, Inc., Nashville, Tennessee, named Chairman.
  • David M. Ratcliffe, President and Chief Executive Officer, Georgia Power Company, Atlanta, Georgia, named Deputy Chairman.

  • Robert J. Darnall, Former Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Inland Steel Industries, Inc., Chicago, Illinois, renamed Chairman.
  • W. James Farrell, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Illinois Tool Works Inc., Glenview, Illinois, renamed Deputy Chairman.

St. Louis
  • Charles W. Mueller, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ameren Corporation, St. Louis, Missouri, renamed Chairman.
  • Walter L. Metcalfe, Jr., Chairman, Bryan Cave LLP, St. Louis, Missouri, renamed Deputy Chairman.

  • Ronald N. Zwieg, President, United Food & Commercial Workers, Local 653, Plymouth, Minnesota, renamed Chairman.
  • Linda Hall Whitman, Chief Executive Officer, QuickMedx, Inc., Edina, Minnesota, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Kansas City
  • Terrence P. Dunn, President and Chief Executive Officer, J.E. Dunn Construction Company, Kansas City, Missouri, renamed Chairman.
  • Richard H. Bard, Founder and Manager, IdeaSpring, LLC, Denver, Colorado, renamed Deputy Chairman.

  • Ray L. Hunt, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Hunt Consolidated, Inc., Dallas, Texas, named Chairman.
  • Patricia M. Patterson, President, Patterson Investments, Inc., Dallas, Texas, renamed Deputy Chairman.

San Francisco
  • Nelson C. Rising, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Catellus Development Corporation, San Francisco, California, renamed Chairman.
  • George M. Scalise, President, Semiconductor Industry Association, San Jose, California, renamed Deputy Chairman.

2002 Other announcements

Home | News and events
Last update: October 11, 2002