Annual Report logo


The Federal Reserve, the central bank of the United States, is a federal system composed of a central governmental agency--the Board of Governors--and 12 regional Federal Reserve Banks.

The Board of Governors, located in Washington, D.C., consists of seven members appointed by the President of the United States and supported by a 2,100-person staff. Besides conducting research, analysis, and policymaking related to domestic and international financial and economic matters, the Board plays a major role in the supervision and regulation of the U.S. banking system and administers most of the nation's laws regarding consumer credit protection. It also has broad oversight responsibility for the nation's payments system and the operations and activities of the Federal Reserve Banks.

This report covers Board and System operations and activities during calendar-year 2009. The report includes six main sections:

For More Background on Board Operations

For more information about the Federal Reserve Board and the Federal Reserve System, visit the Board's website at

The Federal Reserve System

The Federal Reserve System, which serves as the nation's central bank, was created by an act of Congress on December 23, 1913. The System consists of a seven-member Board of Governors with headquarters in Washington, D.C., and the 12 Reserve Banks located in major cities throughout the United States.

The Federal Reserve Banks are the operating arms of the central banking system, carrying out a variety of System functions, including operating a nationwide payments system; distributing the nation's currency and coin; under authority delegated by the Board of Governors, supervising and regulating bank holding companies and state-chartered banks that are members of the System; serving as fiscal agents of the U.S. Treasury; and providing a variety of financial services for the Treasury, other government agencies, and other fiscal principals.

The maps below identify Federal Reserve Districts by their official number, city, and letter designation.

Map of the Federal Reserve System with links to the Federal Reserve District maps description of maps of the Federal Reserve System First District: Boston Second District: New York Third District: Philadelphia Fourth District: Cleveland Board of Governors Fifth District: Richmond Sixth District: Atlanta Seventh District: Chicago Eighth District: St. Louis Ninth District: Minneapolis Tenth District: Kansas City Eleventh District: Dallas Twelfth District: San Francisco Twelfth District includes Alaska Twelfth District includes Hawaii


District 1-A, Boston description of District 1-A, Boston  District 2-B, New York description of District 2-B, New York  District 3-C, Philadelphia description of District 3-C, Philadelphia  District 4-D, Cleveland description of District 4-D, Cleveland District 5-E, Richmond description of District 5-E, Richmond
District 6-F, Atlanta description of District 6-F, Atlanta  District 7-G, Chicago description of District 7-G, Chicago District 8-H, St. Louis description of District 8-H, St. Louis District 9-I, Minneapolis description of District 9-I, Minneapolis District 10-J, Kansas City description of District 10-J, Kansas City District 11-K, Dallas description of District 11-K, Dallas District 12-L, San Francisco description of District 12-L, San Francisco

1. For more information on the FOMC, see the Board's website at   Return to text

Return to top