Economics of Payments XII Conference -- Call for Papers

October 26-27, 2023

Federal Reserve Board, Washington, D.C.

Submission Deadline: July 15, 2023

The Federal Reserve Board will host the Economics of Payments XII Conference in Washington, D.C., on October 26 and 27, 2023. This in-person conference offers an opportunity for economists, academics, central bankers, and policymakers to present and discuss work on payments, financial market infrastructures (FMIs), and related topics.

Interested researchers are invited to submit papers on payments, FMIs, and related topics. Potential themes of interest include, but are not limited to

  • studies of retail and wholesale payments;
  • innovations within the payments industry, including central bank digital currencies (CBDCs), crypto-currencies, fintechs, and fast payment systems;
  • traditional and emerging payment methods;
  • cross-border payments;
  • risk and supervision/regulation of FMIs;
  • the rise of artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning within the payment ecosystem; and
  • industrial organization of payments, including potential effect of new payment methods and application programming interfaces (APIs).

Submission Procedures
While extended abstracts will also be considered, preference will be given to complete working papers. Please send submissions via Conference Maker. Authors of accepted contributions will be notified by September 15, 2023. Limited travel funding for academic speakers will be available.

If you have questions, please contact the conference organizers at [email protected].

Scientific Committee

  • Federal Reserve Board: Elena Falcettoni, Geoffrey Gerdes, and Krzysztof Wozniak
  • Federal Reserve System: Antoine Martin (New York), Oz Shy (Atlanta), and Joanna Stavins (Boston)
  • Austrian National Bank: Helmut Stix
  • Bank of Canada: James Chapman and Kim P. Huynh
  • Bank of Finland: Matti Hellqvist
  • Bank for International Settlements: Morten Bech and Tara Rice
  • Bank of Mexico and Centre for Latin American Monetary Studies:Serafin Martinez Jaramillo
  • Wharton Financial Institutions Center and TNB USA Inc.: James McAndrews

Local Organizing Committee

  • Federal Reserve Board: Elena Falcettoni, Mark Manuszak, and Krzysztof Wozniak
Back to Top
Last Update: August 30, 2023