skip to main navigation skip to secondary navigation skip to content
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
skip to content

Press Release

Federal Reserve Press Release

Release Date: December 13, 2012

For release at 8:30 a.m. EST

The Bank of Canada, the Bank of England, the European Central Bank, the Federal Reserve, and the Swiss National Bank are today announcing an extension of the existing temporary U.S. dollar liquidity swap arrangements through February 1, 2014. Previously, these swap arrangements had been authorized through February 1, 2013.

These central banks are also extending through February 1, 2014 the network of temporary bilateral liquidity swap arrangements that enable the provision of liquidity in each jurisdiction in any of their currencies should market conditions so warrant. The bilateral liquidity swap arrangements had been authorized through February 1, 2013.

The Bank of Japan will consider an extension of both sets of swap arrangements at its next Monetary Policy Meeting.

Information on the actions taken by other central banks is available at the following websites:

Bank of Canada Leaving the Board

Bank of England Leaving the Board

Bank of Japan Leaving the Board

European Central Bank Leaving the Board

Swiss National Bank Leaving the Board

For media inquiries, call 202-452-2955.

Last update: December 13, 2012