December 31, 2008

Six new members named to the Thrift Institutions Advisory Council; new president and vice president named for 2009

For immediate release

The Federal Reserve Board on Wednesday announced the names of six new members of its Thrift Institutions Advisory Council (TIAC) and designated a new President and Vice President of the council for 2009.

TIAC is an advisory group established by the Board in 1980 that includes representatives from savings and loan associations, savings banks, and credit unions. It meets three times each year with the Board of Governors to discuss developments relating to thrift institutions, the housing industry, mortgage finance, and regulatory issues.

Curtis L. Hage, Chairman and CEO, Home Federal Bank, Sioux Falls, SD, will serve as President of TIAC in 2009. F. Edward Broadwell, Jr., Chairman and CEO, HomeTrust Bank, Asheville, NC, will serve as Vice President.

The six new members, named for two-year terms beginning January 1, 2009, are:

Barrie G. Christman
Principal Bank
Des Moines, IA

Richard G. Harwood
President and CEO
Newport Federal Bank
Newport, TN

Kay M. Hoveland
President and CEO
Kaiser Federal Bank and K-Fed Bancorp
Covina, CA

Richard J. Green
Firstrust Bank
Conshohocken, PA

Randy M. Smith
CEO and President
Randolph-Brooks Federal Credit Union
Universal City, TX

William R. White
Chairman and CEO
Dearborn Federal Savings Bank
Dearborn, MI

TIAC members whose terms continue through 2009 are:

F. Edward Broadwell, Jr.
Chairman and CEO
HomeTrust Bank
Asheville, NC 

William A. Donius
Chairman and CEO
Pulaski Bank
St. Louis, MO

Joseph R. Ficalora
Chairman, President and CEO
New York Community Bancorp
Westbury, NY

Curtis L. Hage 
Chairman and CEO
Home Federal Bank
Sioux Falls, SD

Christopher T. Jillson
President and CEO
Sandia Laboratory Federal Credit Union
Albuquerque, NM 

Peter L. Judkins
President and CEO
Franklin Savings Bank
Farmington, ME

Last Update: December 31, 2008