skip to main navigation skip to secondary navigation skip to content
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
skip to content

Press Release

Federal Reserve Press Release

Release Date: November 8, 2007

For immediate release

The Federal Reserve Board on Thursday announced the appointment of the chairmen and deputy chairmen of the twelve Federal Reserve Banks for 2008.

Each Reserve Bank has a nine-member board of directors. The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and each year designates one of its appointees as chairman and a second as deputy chairman.

Following are the names of the chairmen and deputy chairmen appointed by the Board for 2008:

Lisa M. Lynch, William L. Clayton Professor of International Economic Affairs, The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts, renamed Chairman.

Henri A. Termeer, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Genzyme Corporation, Cambridge, Massachusetts, renamed Deputy Chairman.

New York
Stephen Friedman, Chairman, Stone Point Capital, LLC, New York, New York, named Chairman.

Denis M. Hughes, President, New York State AFL-CIO, New York, New York, renamed Deputy Chairman.

William F. Hecht, Retired Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, PPL Corporation, Allentown, Pennsylvania, named Chairman.

Charles P. Pizzi, President and Chief Executive Officer, Tasty Baking Company, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, named Deputy Chairman.

Tanny B. Crane, President and Chief Executive Officer, Crane Group Company, Columbus, Ohio, renamed Chairman.

Alfred M. Rankin, Jr., Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, NACCO Industries, Inc., Cleveland, Ohio, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Thomas J. Mackell, Jr., President, Association of Benefit Administrators, Warrenton, Virginia, renamed Chairman.

Lemuel E. Lewis, Director, Landmark Communications, Inc., Norfolk, Virginia, renamed Deputy Chairman.

V. Larkin Martin, Managing Partner, Martin Farm, Courtland, Alabama, renamed Chairman.

D. Scott Davis, Chief Financial Officer and Vice Chairman, United Parcel Service, Atlanta, Georgia, renamed Deputy Chairman.

John A. Canning, Jr., Chairman, Madison Dearborn Partners, LLC, Chicago, Illinois, named Chairman.

William C. Foote, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, USG Corporation, Chicago, Illinois, named Deputy Chairman.

St. Louis
Irl F. Engelhardt, Chairman, Patriot Coal Corporation, St. Louis, Missouri, renamed Chairman.

Cynthia J. Brinkley, President, AT&T Missouri, St. Louis, Missouri, renamed Deputy Chairman.

James J. Hynes, Executive Administrator, Twin City Pipe Trades Service Association, St. Paul, Minnesota, named Chairman.

John W. Marvin, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Marvin Windows and Doors, Warroad, Minnesota, named Deputy Chairman.

Kansas City
Lu M. Cordova, Chief Executive Officer, Corlund Industries and Chairman, CTEK Angels, Boulder, Colorado, named Chairman.

Paul DeBruce, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman/Founder, DeBruce Grain, Inc., Kansas City, Missouri, named Deputy Chairman.

James T. Hackett, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, Houston, Texas, renamed Chairman.

Anthony R. Chase, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, ChaseCom, L.P., Houston, Texas, renamed Deputy Chairman.

San Francisco
David K.Y. Tang, Managing Partner, Asia, K&L Gates, Seattle, Washington, renamed Chairman.

T. Gary Rogers, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Dreyer’s Grand Ice Cream, Inc., Oakland, California, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Last update: November 8, 2007