Volcker Rule

The Volcker rule generally prohibits banking entities from engaging in proprietary trading or investing in or sponsoring hedge funds or private equity funds.

The regulations have been developed by five federal financial regulatory agencies, including the Federal Reserve Board, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, and the Securities and Exchange Commission.

This webpage includes information on the rulemakings to implement the Volcker rule, as well as related statements and other announcements on the Volcker rule.


Statements and Other Announcements

Back to Top
Last Update: January 30, 2020