December 13, 2013

Federal Reserve Board announces appointment of the chairs and deputy chairs of the Federal Reserve Banks for 2014

For immediate release

The Federal Reserve Board on Friday announced the designation of the chairs and deputy chairs of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks for 2014.

Each Reserve Bank has a nine-member board of directors.  The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and each year designates one of its appointees as chair and a second as deputy chair.

Following are the names of the chairs and deputy chairs designated by the Board for 2014:

William D. Nordhaus, Sterling Professor of Economics, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, named Chair. 

John F. Fish, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Suffolk Construction Company, Inc., Boston, Massachusetts, named Deputy Chair.

New York
Emily K. Rafferty, President, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, New York, renamed Chair.

Sara Horowitz, Executive Director, Freelancers Union, Brooklyn, New York, named Deputy Chair.

James E. Nevels, Founder and Chairman, The Swarthmore Group, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, named Chair.

Michael Angelakis, Vice Chair and Chief Financial Officer, Comcast Corporation, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, named Deputy Chair.

Richard K. Smucker, Chief Executive Officer, The J.M. Smucker Company, Orrville, Ohio, renamed Chair.

Christopher M. Connor, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Sherwin-Williams Company, Cleveland, Ohio, renamed Deputy Chair. 

Linda D. Rabbitt, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Rand Construction Corporation, Washington, D.C., renamed Chair.

Russell C. Lindner, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Forge Company, Washington, D.C., renamed Deputy Chair.

Thomas I. Barkin, Director, McKinsey & Company, Atlanta, Georgia, renamed Chair.

Thomas A. Fanning, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Southern Company, Atlanta, Georgia, named Deputy Chair.

Jeffrey A. Joerres, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, ManpowerGroup, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, renamed Chair.

Greg Brown, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Motorola Solutions, Inc., Schaumburg, Illinois, renamed Deputy Chair.

St. Louis
Sharon D. Fiehler, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, Peabody Energy, St. Louis, Missouri, named Chair.

George Paz, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Express Scripts,   St. Louis, Missouri, named Deputy Chair.

Randall J. Hogan, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Pentair, Minneapolis, Minnesota, named Chair.

MayKao Y. Hang, President and Chief Executive Officer, Amherst H. Wilder Foundation, St. Paul, Minnesota, named Deputy Chair.

Kansas City
Barbara Mowry, Chief Executive Officer, GoreCreek Advisors, Greenwood Village, Colorado, renamed Chair.

Steve Maestas, Managing Partner, NAI Maestas and Ward, Albuquerque, New Mexico, renamed Deputy Chair.

Myron E. Ullman III, Chief Executive Officer, J.C. Penney Company, Inc., Plano, Texas, named Chair.

Renu Khator, Chancellor and President, University of Houston, Houston, Texas, named Deputy Chair.

San Francisco
Patricia E. Yarrington, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Chevron Corporation, San Ramon, California, renamed Chair.

Roy A. Vallee, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (Retired), Avnet, Inc., Phoenix, Arizona, renamed Deputy Chair.

Last Update: December 13, 2013