Third Conference on the Interconnectedness of Financial Systems

March 28-29, 2024

Federal Reserve Board, Washington, D.C.

Post-crisis regulation uses various notions of interconnectedness to promote financial stability. Yet, the economic content of most interconnectedness measures and the role played by the structure of the financial system in reshaping systemic risk remain, at best, imperfectly understood.

This conference will bring together leading academics and policymakers to discuss research that expands our understanding of the interconnectedness of financial systems. We welcome theoretical and empirical contributions on topics including, but not limited to

  • linkages between institutions and their role in the implementation of monetary policy;
  • design of supervision and regulation in interconnected financial systems;
  • linkages within short-term funding markets and their financial stability influence;
  • implications of interconnectedness on deposit flows and bank credit;
  • fire sales and their financial stability consequences;
  • new approaches to measuring and monitoring systemic risk; and
  • impact of climate change on interconnectedness, systemic risk, and financial stability.

Keynote speaker: Joseph Stiglitz (Columbia)

Agostino Capponi (Columbia), Anil Kashyap (Chicago), Michael Kiley (Fed Board), Guillermo Ordoñez (Penn), and Chester Spatt (Carnegie Mellon) have kindly agreed to participate in a roundtable discussion that will bring different perspectives on the challenges related to measuring and understanding interconnectedness.

Program Committee: Alyssa Anderson (Fed Board), Enghin Atalay (Philadelphia Fed), Ana Babus (WashU), Agostino Capponi (Columbia), Briana Chang (Wisconsin), Jean-Edouard Colliard (HEC Paris), Co-Pierre Georg (EDHEC Business School), Bernard Herskovic (UCLA), Elizabeth Klee (Fed Board), Shawn Mankad (NCSU), Camelia Minoiu (Atlanta Fed), Alfred Lehar (Calgary), Mark Paddrik (OFR), Matthew Pritsker (Boston Fed), Margit Reischer (Georgetown), Alireza Tahbaz-Salehi (Northwestern), and Shengxing Zhang (LSE).

Organizing Committee: Levent Altinoglu (Fed Board), Jin-Wook Chang (Fed Board), Carlos Ramírez (Fed Board), and Jessie Wang (Fed Board).

For more information about the conference, please send an email to [email protected]. The program of previous conferences can be found here: 2019, 2021.

Back to Top
Last Update: February 27, 2024