Summer Workshop on Money, Banking, Payments, and Finance -- Call for Papers

August 19-23, 2024

Washington, D.C.

A joint workshop organized by the Bank of Canada, the Federal Reserve Board of Governors, and the Study Center Gerzensee.

The Board of Governors will host the 2024 Summer Workshop on Money, Banking, Payments, and Finance on August 19–23, 2024, in Washington, D.C., jointly organized with the Bank of Canada and the Study Center Gerzensee. We aim to hold the workshop in person.

For more than 20 years, the workshop has provided a platform for the exchange of ideas and the promotion of greater interaction among economists working on topics related to money, banking, payments, and finance.

We invite researchers working in these areas to submit a paper to this five-day workshop. Topics include, but are not limited to,

  • monetary economics and monetary policy;
  • OTC markets;
  • e-money, digital assets, and fintech;
  • wholesale/retail and instant payments;
  • financial intermediaries; and
  • bank failures and financial stability.

Depending on the number of submissions, we plan to include a poster session.

The deadline for submissions is March 31, 2024. Submissions should include either a full paper or an extended abstract that includes the results. Authors chosen to present their papers will be notified by the end of May.

Submission: Manuscripts along with the names of any co-authors should be submitted by email to [email protected]. Funding for accommodation is available for a limited number of speakers with need. You can also send a request to this email address if you are interested in attending the conference without presenting.

Scientific committee: Zach Bethune (UVA), Braz Camargo (FGV), Kinda Hachem (UVA-Darden) Athanasios Geromichalos (UC-Davis), Lucas Herrenbrueck (SFU), Janet Jiang (Bank of Canada), Ben Lester (FRB-Philadelphia), Fernando Martin (FRB-St. Louis), Fabrizio Mattesini (Rome, Tor Vergata), Cyril Monnet (Bern, Study Center Gerzensee), Ed Nosal (FRB-Atlanta), Daniel Sanches (FRB- Philadelphia), Bruno Sultanum (FRB-Richmond), Ariel Zetlin-Jones (Carnegie Mellon), and Cathy Zhang (Purdue).

Workshop organizers: Garth Baughman (FRB), Francesca Carapella (FRB), Sam Hempel (FRB), Romina Ruprecht (FRB), and Alexandros Vardoulakis (FRB).

Back to Top
Last Update: February 21, 2024