Federal Banking Regulators for the CRA

Note: The information and resources provided below are not inclusive of any updates outlined in the CRA Final Rule issued on October 24, 2023. For more information on the final rule and compliance dates, please see CRA Final Rule.

Which Regulators Oversee the CRA

Three federal banking agencies, or regulators, are responsible for the CRA. Banks that have CRA obligations are supervised by one of these three regulators. Each regulator has a dedicated CRA site that provides information about the banks they oversee and those banks' CRA ratings and Performance Evaluations.

For State-Chartered Banks

  • The Federal Reserve Board (FRB) regulates state-chartered banks that ARE members of the Federal Reserve System.
  • The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) regulates state-charted banks that are NOT members of the Federal Reserve System.

For National Banks

  • The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) regulates banks with national charters.

Credit unions do not have CRA obligations and are regulated by the National Credit Union Association (NCUA).

CRA Regulations and Guidance

The federal banking regulators (FDIC, FRB, and OCC) each publish CRA regulations that cover the banks they supervise. Regulations explain the details of how the law is implemented. Over time, regulations may be updated to provide clarity on particular aspects of the law.

The FDIC, FRB, and OCC issue interagency guidance on how to implement the regulation. For more information, see the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) CRA website.

Each agency's CRA regulation can be found at:

  • Federal Reserve Board (see 12 CFR 228)
  • Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
  • Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC)

Search for a Bank's Regulator

To find out which regulator oversees a bank, use the FDIC's Bank Find.

Back to Top
Last Update: December 07, 2018